Ah, Regret.


Live from New York, it’s gayface!
Wed, 15 April 2009, 1:56 pm
Filed under: Required Reading | Tags: , , ,

Uh-oh.  I thought it was just a one-time thing, but it’s starting to become a bad habit.  Could this mean that I am now a fan of Zac Efron aka “Zef” aka “Zac what-the-EF-is-wRONg-with you”?!  More like, what-the-F-is-wrong-with-ME!  I have now dedicated two blog posts this gay-looking teen heartthrob.  I have seen High School Musical 3.  In the theater.  These seem like things a thirteen year-old straight girl (or Alex, or perhaps Shannon if she had a blog) would do.  Is this what I’ve become?

zef_fans

Yeesh.  This is unacceptable!  But I just can’t help it.  I tuned in to SNL on Saturday night, and who just happened to be hosting?  It was Zachary, of course.  (I didn’t know about it beforehand, I swear!)  When the show was over, I felt strangely compelled to write a blog post about it.  And so, with a farewell nod to my credibility–as a lesbian, and as a 24 year-old person–here it is:

zac_snl

Edgy!

Now, we all know Zac isn’t the world’s best actor.  Nor does he seem like he’s that funny of a guy in general.  (When you have eyes, hair, and biceps like that, you don’t need to be!)  So I can’t say he was the greatest SNL host of all time, but hey–he was better than Phelps.  And that’s something.

Anyway, SNL  has been on a downward spiral of un-funniness recently–as far as I’m concerned, the departure of Poheler was the nail in the coffin–so I wasn’t really expecting to laugh.  At all.  But I must say that this skit was actually kind of amusing (especially when you have, sadly, seen HSM3).

Vodpod videos no longer available.

I also enjoyed this highly accurate portrayal of (us?) entertainment-type bloggers.

 Vodpod videos no longer available.

Lastly, the musical-guest appearance of the Yeah Yeah Yeahs was what, for me, truly catapulted this episode into the realm of watchability.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

(Especially when they did “Maps”, because I’m a huge sucker for that song.)

Vodpod videos no longer available.

I will leave you with this snippet from Zac’s recent interview with GQ, in which he shares a few words of wisdom spoken to him by Leonardo DiCaprio (who has apparently appointed himself the young lad’s mentor) during their man-date at a Lakers game:

“He said, ‘There’s one way that you can really f—- this all up. Just do heroin. If you steer clear of that – the other obstacles you’ll be able to navigate.’ And that makes sense, dude.”

(Anyone else having a really hard time picturing Zac Efron shooting heroin?  Not that his arms aren’t veiny enough…)

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

the hsm skit is pretty awesome, actually.

and um, weekend update: that could so be us. maybe. =)

but yeah, the departure of Amy Poehler is just depressing. it’s a downward spiral. checkout the yeah yeah yeah’s performance on letterman, too. fab.

oh, i heart leo and his sage advice. id like to see Zac go the way of basketball diaries at some point – in a movie, not real life, mind you!

Comment by iwentwest

The first one was pretty funny but nothing SNL could do to HSM could equal the South Park episode “Grade School Musical”

Comment by Brendan

Do you have the live, acoustical version of Maps? It’s my favorite. So now we love Maps and Soul II Soul. OMG!

Comment by Bondy

OMG we have so much in common !! Send it to me!

Comment by VallyO




Leave a Reply

