Ah, Regret.


I kissed a girl, and I may do it again

Yesterday I took a kindly jab at “blogging about Music”, all in good fun, but today it has come to my attention that perhaps some people would find my comment a bit insensitive. So I would like to apologize to myself. I will now blog about music.

I have been a little behind the pop music times lately, especially because [insert litany of perfectly valid excuses], so bear with me. It recently came to my attention that “pop newcomer Katy Perry had a top 5 single with ‘I Kissed a Girl‘.” First of all, LOL! Secondly, waaaiit a minute, that song title sounds familiar… remember singer-songwriter Jill Sobule‘s 1995 hit of the same name? No? Well congratulations, you’re not Alex, and also you’re not that gay. Except for your secret love of the Indigo Girls. But I digress.

To provide some background, Sobule’s song is a touchy-feely fuzzy empowering I-like-girls-now-yay deal (So I looked at you, you had guilt in your eyes/But it only lasted a little while/And then I felt your hand above my knee/And we laughed at the world”).

Perry’s little number, on the other hand, is all about the drunk girls making out (“I kissed a girl just to try it/I hope my boyfriend don’t mind it… Don’t mean I’m in love tonight”). I won’t name names, but perhaps some of you find this song empowering, as well. I know, I know, you are not gay, you just dabble in gay, and you needed an anthem of your very own.

Anyway, when discussing Katy Perry’s song in an interview, Sobule said the following:

“Maybe I’ll write a third ‘I Kissed a Girl’ for fun. It will be about how I kissed her, Ieft the dull boyfriend, got gay-married in California, and really no one gave a shit.”

Brilliant! I demand to be included in this “I Kissed a Girl” songwriting extravaganza. Here is my version:

I was minding my own business
Then Marie touched me
Then I kissed a girl
Who is not gay but loves rainbows
And convinced me to uhaul it across the country
(Apparently lesbians tend to do that)
Also we could get gay-married in California
And no one would give a shit (jk, I know Heathie would)

Aren’t you glad Alex gayed up my musical tastes in the summer of 2007?

10 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Dabble? I like to refer to it all as toe-ing the line: Is the line in or out?

Comment by originalmf

Line is in !!!!!

Comment by VallyO

this is ridiculous. i dont like that katy perry song, either. i mean, really? she’s totally the drunk girl craving attn at the frat party.

also, i love that for you, there is nothing gayer than me and marie. i mean, wait. that came out wrong….

Comment by iwentwest

Correction: No one is gayer than Marie. There are a lot of people gayer than you. Yet somehow there is nothing gayer than the combination of you two.

Comment by VallyO

does this mean alex likes the indigo girls? it’s not so secret now.

i do profess to know the words to that one indigo girls song. something about mountains. i think it speaks to the part of me that’s in. or is it out? idk

Comment by originalmf

haha! see marie? you’re totally gayer than me!

Comment by virb

also, i’d like to note that when i was adding your blog to my google reader, at first i accidentally typed “sultrylump”

Comment by virb

omg ! how am i just seeing this now !

virb — there is no way in hell (where all good lesbians go) that i am gayer than you ! even if i made caitlin, crider and one surly lump (amongst others) very very gay.

Comment by SpicyMarie

[…] love her. katy perry – hot and cold. i cant believe she made it onto my list, especially after that awful song whose name i refuse to mention lykke li – every track on youth novels rocked: little bit; im good im gone… oh, and here she […]

Pingback by And everything is going to the beat: later, ‘08! « this must be the place

[…] almost as good as me! […]

Pingback by Lily Allen is fucking hilarious « Ah, Regret.




Leave a Reply

